You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

September 13, 2021 1:46 am  #1

Self obs on a bus (F)

So long story short, the team that I’ve been working with for 5 years suddenly got split up overnight and reassigned to different units and buildings. I worked through the pandemic with these people, and with no prior warning I wake up to an email saying that we’re all reassigned, and two people were laid off. Through my shock and befuddlement, and lack of sleep, I guess I thought it would be a good idea to get some donuts for everyone. There is a bus that takes us from our parking area to our workplace, and as I got onto the bus I saw four members of my former team sitting in the back, two women and two men. One of the women had wet eyes. And that’s when the emotion hit me. If I had just had a bit more warning, I could have arranged a little party or happy hour, with some cards and gifts for everyone, and maybe we could have dressed up a bit and taken a few dignified photos together. Instead I’m standing there in my wrinkled scrubs, masked, working off 3 hours of sleep, with a box of shitty donuts in my hands. Within 5 seconds I was crying, and by the time I walked over to them, four tears had dropped over my mask and onto the donut box. When I sat down next to them, the other woman also started crying, and her tears rolled behind her mask, but I could see two streaks coming from each eye. One of the guys sat next to me and gently rubbed my back, which was nice. My mask had shifted, so now my tears were rolling smoothly down my cheeks behind the mask. My voice was choked as I asked them questions and tried to piece together what had happened. Once I gasped sharply and sniffled, which caused the guy to squeeze my shoulder tightly for a moment.